“The Messy Artist” 

So as this being my very first blog post I thought I would talk a little bit about my background as an artist! I was born into an artistic family and can’t really recall one day going by, where I didn’t doodle on a scratch piece of paper or create a work of art on the back of a homework assignment. Anyways.. I adopted the nickname “the messy artist” from my amazing childhood art teacher, Mrs. Strong! She’s absolutely down to earth and one of the sweetest people I know! I’ve learned mostly everything I know and love about art, from her! Not to mention, has a wonderful gift of teaching on her life! Growing up, on Tuesdays and Wednesdays, I would head to her adorable, farm house inspired cottage for “open studio art classes.” There she had converted a guest bedroom into a small art studio where seven other students and I would gather and learn and be able to thrive in a creative environment. For two hours each week, we had the freedom to create whatever masterpiece we wanted, (with her help of course;) she would come over to our easels and help each student individually by encouraging and guiding their skills. We had our own easel, chair, and side table for supplies, which brings me to the whole point of this story! As an artist and just a human in general, I find color and texture mesmerizing! Something about being in that class, I felt I could let my creative wings spread free and soar! I would dabble with different colors, and loved to watch them blend and almost replicate dances twirling across my pallet. Before I knew it there wasn’t one inch of white showing through the paint. I would sit back and giggle as I saw the mess I had made. Not only, was there no more room for mixing paint, but my whole desk would be covered in loosely closed paint tubes, scratch pieces of paper, and brushes being careless set on my pallet and rolled through layers of beautiful paint! My teacher would then call on the attention of my class and give a comedic demonstration on how “Not” to store your art supplies, and hence, the messy artist was born! Thank you for reading!

Sincerely, Calli!

Leave a Reply

